JAP floors Kanu in Kericho, ODM defeats Jubilee in Malindi

Mombasa governor Hassan Joho celebrates with ODM's Willy Mtengo and Kilifi governor Amason Kingi in Malindi on Monday night Photo/Joho Press
Mombasa governor Hassan Joho celebrates with ODM’s Willy Mtengo and Kilifi governor Amason Kingi in Malindi on Monday night Photo/Joho Press

Jubilee’s Aaron Cheruiyot decisively won the Kericho Senator by-election while ODM’s Willy Mtengo is the new Malindi MP elect according to IEBC provisional results.

Cheruiyot garnered 109,358 votes in 623 out of 623 stations counted cementing DP William Ruto’s clout in Rift Valley.

Second after the 31-year-old was Kanu’s Kipkorir Sang, a former MP and Health minister, with decades of experience in public service.

Sang, who was backed by Bomet Governor Isaac Rutto, got 56,307 votes while National Vision Party candidate Daniel Tanui garnered a slow 772 votes.

Wycliffe Ng’eno of the Maendeleo Development Party got 473 votes while Paul Sigei (United Democratic Movement) was sixth with 427. David Kipkoech of New Democrats was was last with 427 votes.

Voting kicked off at 6am with most polling stations registering high numbers; a 58 per cent turnout rate made this the country’s most competitive and defining by-election.

Cheruiyot cast his ballot at Kapmaso Primary School in Belgut while Sang voted at Kamanamsin Primary School in Bureti.

At least 1,300 police officers were deployed to ensure security during and after the mini poll. Six hundred and twenty three party agents and observers were tasked with ascertaining credibility.

The 2013 voter register placed the number of voters in the county at 290,947.

In the Malindi MP by-election that also took place on Monday, ODM’s Willy Mtengo floored JAP candidate Phillip Charo, 15,582 votes against the latter’s 9, 243.

Mtengo succeeds Dan Kazungu who was appointed Mining Cabinet Secretary. His win has seen the Cord coalition retain the seat.

ALSO READ  It’s your constitutional right to vote

From the onset, the contest was seen as a two-horse race pitting the ruling coalition’s Charo against Mtengo. Mtengo voted at Msabaha polling station while Charo cast his ballot at Ganda police station.

Attas Shariff of LPK was third with 1,547 votes while Reuben Katana of Kadu-Asili garnered 353 votes.

David Mangi (Shirikisho Party) got 68 votes, Nelson Gunga Federal


Article courtesy of http://www.the-star.co.ke/

Please follow and like us:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *